Rachel Andrews

Rachel Andrews
Building Inspector/Development Officer
Cypress Planning District
  1. What is your current job title and which area do you cover?

I work for the Cypress Planning District and I am the building inspector/development officer. I cover from just South of Glenboro all the way up to the area south of Neepawa. I have 3 members within my planning district; the town of Carberry, the municipality of Glenboro South Cypress and the municipality of North Cypress-Langford.

  1. How long have you worked with in the industry?

I am a draftsperson by trade and I have been involved in the construction industry for 12 years now. I’ve had the pleasure of working as a building official for the last 4 years.

  1. How long have you been a member of MBOA?

I have been a member of MBOA for the past 4 years and I’ve had the opportunity to sit on the board for the last two years now.

  1. Why did you become a member of the MBOA? 

I joined the association to be able to network with my peers and gain a better understanding of our trade. The wealth of knowledge  that our membership maintains is an underutilized resource.

  1. What do you love most about being a building inspector?

I love being able to work with applicants from the initial design stage right through to the final inspection. Helping people understand a little bit about the code is very rewarding.

  1. Has becoming a member of the MBOA helped you in your career?

Yes, Being a member has given me the confidence not only in my skills but in my ability to speak to others about our industry. I have learned so much from my mentors within the association and I currently wouldn't be where I am today without the friendships and the experience I've gained through being part of the Manitoba Building Officials Association.

  1. Do you have any mentors in your professional life?

 I have many mentors in my professional life. As I'm sure other members can appreciate, being a rural building inspector means that you're thrown into many different situations. If it wasn't for my mentors I would have struggled through my early career.

  1. What is your favourite hobby or leisure activity?

Outside of the office, I have a young family that I have the joy of raising on our cattle farm. I don’t have a lot of downtime, between the office, the farm and my kids.

  1. What is your favourite sports team?

    I hate to admit it but we're not a hockey family. Pre-Covid you could guarantee that every CFL game that we could catch would be on the TV. And if we lived a little closer to Winnipeg we would have Blue Bomber season tickets for sure.
  1. What is something unique or something we may not about you that people in the MBOA might find interesting.

    Even though I spend as much time outside as possible, I actually have a condition that makes me allergic to the sun!




Back to News List